top of page


Brambles Community Pre-School follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2012, and all our activities and planning follow the curriculum for the Statutory Framework and Development Matters 2012.


The Characteristics of Effective Learning and the prime and specific Areas of Learning and Development are all interconnected.


Effective practice in the Early Years Foundation Stage is built on four themes;

  • A Unique Child

  • Positive Relationships

  • Enabling Environments

  • Learning and Development

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our educational programmes.

The three prime areas are:

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development.

The four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied are: 

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design.                                            

None of these areas of Learning and Development can be delivered in isolation from the others.


In our planning we examine and reflect on the different ways that the children learn.
The Characteristics of Effective Learning are;

  • playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;

  • active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements; and

  • creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

Each area of learning and development is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to think about problems, and relate to others.

bottom of page